A week in North Norfolk with a Fuji X-T1.

For a change I decided to travel light and take only the Fuji X-T1 leaving the Canon gear at home. Why? Well partly because I am wondering if I really need the heavy Canon equipment any more, with its light weight, super sensor and lenses what would I sacrifice if I sold the 5D Mk3?

Low sun glances off sea-front buildings at Sherringham.
Low sun glances off sea-front buildings at Sherringham.

To see more of my images please and buy a print visit http://www.billallsopp.co.uk

One way to test this seemed to be to leave the Canon at home and focus on on the Fuji so how did I get on?

Well I’ll let the pictures tell the story and ask for your opinion; please tell me what you think. Five pictures from the week, different times of day, different lenses and different conditions.

Do you like the pictures?

Boats on the Weybourne shingle bank.
Boats on the Weybourne shingle bank.
Walking along a beach at sunset .
Walking along a beach at sunset .
Panorama of Cromer from the beach at sunset.
Panorama of Cromer from the beach at sunset.
Fishing boats on the slipway at Sherringham.
Fishing boats on the slipway at Sherringham.

Should I shoot only with the Fuji cameras?

27 thoughts on “A week in North Norfolk with a Fuji X-T1.”

  1. Wow, looks like it can keep up with the big gun! The only negatives I’ve heard with these cameras is for action shots at high ISO and since that doesn’t seem to be what you normally take I can’t see a problem. Great shots by the way and if I had to pick a favourite it would be the fishing boats on the slipway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Do you need to keep your Canon system. This is a question only you can answer. Whilst the Fuji system provides you with something that is well suited to your travel and landscape work and takes a lot of strain off the back carrying it around No system is perfect for everything. Really its down to personal preference, how you work and how comfortable you feel using one bit of kit or another for a specific genre. As a personal preference I use my X cameras for many things but would tend to pick up my D800 kit for anything that required the use of flash, either monobloc heads or speedlight styles, again I would go for it for anything that required fast operation or fast moving objects. Things like presentation events or such like. Bottom line is its really down to the genres your likely to be snapping and your comfort factor of using one bit of kit over another. Out and out ‘quality of images capabilities’ are by and large all a much of a muchness these days you have to be really stupid or immensely clever to buy a useless camera these days, its more down to the capability and vision of the snapper. Work backwards from what your likely to shoot to the suitability of the gear to your comfort factor in it being good for you and you will have the answer. Finally there is the pounds shillings and pence, sell the canon and take the hit, find you need its speed and operability for something and you repeat the buy and take another hit syndrome. Decisions decisions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Dave

      Thanks for taking the time to come in here and give such a comprehensive reply. You will remember that a few years ago I shed to Canon gear and bought a Leica. An expensive exercise that had the very positive side effect of introducing me to you. I am not about to rush out and make the same mistake again. Artificial light, although I use it very little is one area that concerns me with the Fuji. The Canon speedlights are pretty much bullet proof, even in my inept flasher hands. My attempts at flash with the Fuji have been few and I do not have the confidence in it that means I will be parting with the Canon any time soon BUT I do intend to practice a bit more in the near future using a local lad who is a skateboarder as a model. Maybe that will point me a bit more in one direction or another. In any event only time will tell and it may be that I never have the confidence to make the leap in which case the Fuji is likely to get a lot of use but the Canon gear in the background will give me the catch net I need in special circumstances.

      While I am typing do you have any experience of the Fuji 90mm f2.0? Not something I would need a lot but a lens I can see special case uses for.

      Like

      1. Fuji 90mm. Not a lens I have used, to me its a bit of an odd ball focal length, too short to be long and to long to be generally useful. My longest prime for the fuji is the 60mm, which I only really use on odd occasions and dont tend to carry about.
        Its termed as Macro but only goes to half life size, as a portrait lens it works well.
        For anything longer I have the much underrated 50-230, that with its superb IOS caters well for a longer lens and camera to subject distance keeps DOF reasonable with it. The 90 at f2 would be a fag papers thickness DOF and in all honesty I cant see any great need for it.
        Does not really answer your question but hope this 2 penneth helps save you some hard earned.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not sure my previous response worked so…..
        Re the 90mm f2 – not a lens I have used and to be honest not one I would rush to get. For me too short to be long and too long to be useful for much general stuff.
        I have the 60mm 2.8 and use that every now and again, but not at all that often. Its useful for portraits and being close focus (they say macro but as its only half life size I say close up) useful for when you want o get close, having said that its not a lens I tend to actually take out and carry.
        For longer I use the much maligned 50-230 that with its IOS is amazning for a cheap lens, DOF on both the 60 and the long zoom is fine for what I do, the 90 f2 used wide open you would be in fag paper territory and thats not always what you actually want.
        As an alternative if you like the sound of the 90 ish focal length, then the rokinon 85mm 1.4 has to be worth a look, IQ on rokinon as you know is more than reasonable bang for the buck at around 1/3 cost of fuji lens for something used once in blue moon has to make it worth an investigation, so long as manual focus does not bother you with the XT

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you again Dave. The 50-230 is a lens I also own and it does take cracking photos for the money. Only problem I have found is it can struggle to focus in some situations and not only low light. But there is always manual so i don’t miss many shots with it..

        Like

      1. Thank you very much… My biggest problem is my always MOVING subject… 😉 Since I have this Minolta Lumix that has this ability you can take every oicture twice, well… it helps a bit…;-)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Carry on from the 90 f2, have you looked at the Rokinon 85mm 1.4. Ok is manual focus, no big deal on that. The Iq of the rokinons are as you know more than fine and its around a third of the price. Cost v munber of times the focal length would be used = worth investigation time

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 135 as a portrait lens, tad on the long side. Generally around the 90mm mark (FF) is the generally considered to be the FL of choice. Consider Leica the trinity 35-50-90, Hassleblad 65-80-150 many others used similar. All for good reason. The 135 would bring you into tight head shot territory at normal working distance.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Re the 50-230. Tried mine today trying to focus first into the deep shadow areas with no clear defined contrast areas, then into really bright, neigh on blow out highlight areas. Reasonably quick focus lock in both cases. Only thing I can think of why you may be having issues getting a lock is, have you done the latest firmware update, from memory the release did feature focus improvements

    Like

  6. Nice work Bill. I was in Cromer last year too, with the Fuji Xe2. wonderful photographing opportunities up there. I have been using a Pentax 135mm manual focus lens on the Fuji, though with no image stabilisation you have to keep the shutter speed up. Nice results, for boats, and seascapes. I suppose if you want to go Telephoto you have to have the pricey Fujinon XF50-140mm which covers the range you are discussing in this post and has great reviews. And flog the Canon gear, FujiFilm update everything for years with new firmware..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

