I’ve done the unthinkable – what I said I would never do!

For years I said I would not sign up to one of the micro-stock sites but after a number of sales through Alamy realising as little as £2.00 for me (plus some realising over £100.00 I have finally concluded that there is no longer any real difference and yesterday I signed up to iStock (part of Getty.)

I currently send work to Loop Images (my preferred library for British Landscapes and a firm I really like working with) and through their partnership deals have stock sales through Corbis, Fotosearch and others. I have also used Alamy (who frankly drive me nuts with the way they do things and may get the boot soon) and now I have a third outlet. None of them pay me much a year; a living it is definitely not in fact it is as much a matter of something to do on dark wet winter nights when there is nothing on the TV – when is there ever? I shall pick and choose who gets what to some extent based on content.

My initial submission consisted of these three images selected more or less at random.

A decorative tree made of fake crystal leaves with fairy lights.
A decorative tree made of fake crystal leaves with fairy lights.
An artificial Christmas Tree.
An artificial Christmas Tree.
Detail from stack of tubular chairs.
Detail from stack of tubular chairs.
5 thoughts on “I’ve done the unthinkable – what I said I would never do!”

Leave a Reply

