Review of 2014 and plans for 2015

At the end of each year I review what I have achieved with my photography and consider what needs to be done for the next year. More an exercise in review and planning than of New Year’s resolutions. Here is my choice of my best pictures from 2014. I have been a bit held back by work and health issues in 2014 so when reviewing my pictures, while I feel the best are some of my best ever.

I can’t help but feel I could have done a lot more,

time allowing and, while the health issues were out of my control the work side of it could have been better dealt with. That is NOT going to be repeated in 2015. By the end of March the current treatment should be complete and I expect to be 100% again. Work is being re-organised and the important stuff like photography and time with my wife and family will come much more to the front.

As you will see I do like being by water it’s my favourite place to be and to photograph. Several of these were taken on one magical morning; such days come along but rarely but the more time one spends out with the camera the more chance you have of encountering that magical light. The first rule of photography is to be there; the second be patient and of course you must always be ready!

To be ready is one thing, to be able to wait is another; but to seize the right moment is everything. Arthur Schnitzler

To see more or to buy a print or licence an image please go to http://www.thebritishlandscape.uk/ or if you need a photographer contact see http://www.billallsopp.co.uk/

The calm of dawn.
The calm of dawn.
A calm high tide at Thornham.
A calm high tide at Thornham.
Thornham Stumps
Thornham Stumps
The fleet at moorings.
The fleet at moorings.
The beach, a calm evening on Brancaster beach.
The beach, a calm evening on Brancaster beach.
Green banks
Green banks
Steam engine at Rempstone rally.
Steam engine at Rempstone rally.
Caravan with awning at nightfall.
Caravan with awning at nightfall.
Fat ears.
Fat ears.
Five a day.
Five a day.
A newly planted potato field.
A newly planted potato field.
All quiet on the river. View of the River Thurne at Sunset.
All quiet on the river. View of the River Thurne at Sunset.
Going Nowhere?
Going Nowhere?
Horsey windpump
Horsey windpump
Horsey wind pump at night.
Horsey wind pump at night.
Happisburgh under Orion.
Happisburgh under Orion.
In the buttercups.
In the buttercups.
Synchronised snapping
Synchronised snapping
Fish and chips
Fish and chips
View along Cromer pier to the Pavilion theatre.
View along Cromer pier to the Pavilion theatre.
Julia
Julia
Florence
Florence
Julia and Florence.
Julia and Florence.
11 thoughts on “Review of 2014 and plans for 2015”

    1. Hi Jodi,

      Thanks for your kind comments. I use Adobe Lightroom for developing all my photos (very occasionally Photoshop CS4 and Nik Silver effects for mono). My key thing is to get it right in camera using filters. As per Leanne Cole’s introduction for me.

      Bill

      Like

Leave a Reply

