The first rule of landscape photography

I was in the fenland of Cambridgeshire a while back; to many the area is flat and boring but whilst it is flat it is not boring to me at least. It is quiet, peaceful and tranquil and that is why Georgina and I went there. Just for a few hours peace. As always of course I took the camera in the hope that I could make one or two classic fenland shots.

Landscape photography is so dependent on the weather conditions and, like many of my kind, I do like the golden hours around dawn and dusk. On this occasion it was not possible

and I had to settle for the middle of the day. When we got there the sky was almost bald and conditions for a landscape picture were not promising. In difficult conditions I recommend looking at the details and that is what I did. The lily pads in the drain were in fine condition, as were the reeds. I could not find easy access to the waterside so started by making a few pictures from a farm bridge.

Lily pads, sun and clouds Pads and reeds

Within a few minutes a patch of fluffy white clouds appeared making for a perfect shot down the sixteen foot drain complete with reflections. I took some shots and felt extremely lucky to have got them since in less than 15 minutes the white clouds were gone to be replaced by stormy grey ones and the mood and feel evaporated.

Fluffy white clouds
Fluffy white clouds

The first rule of landscape photography? Get out there – you can’t make a picture if you don’t.

4 thoughts on “The first rule of landscape photography”

Leave a Reply

