Blindfold and alone

In the summer of 2011 I went to the National Memorial Arboretum, near Tamworth. The National Memorial Arboretum is the UK’s centre of remembrance and has memorials to many branches of the armed and civil services. My aim was to view and photograph the memorial to those shot at dawn during the first world war which was one of the memorials I did not have time to see on a previous visit.

I was immediately struck by the number of marker posts, one post for each person shot, but subsequently pardoned. Examination of the labels on the posts quickly revealed how young many of these poor unfortunates were and I started to go round the posts reading the ages, looking for a post of a young soldier to focus on while showing many others behind. I was so blinkered in my task that having found the best post to focus on and set up my camera I was overcome to find the marker was for a namesake.; whether or not we are directly related I do not know.

Many of these poor souls were shot for “cowardice in the face of the enemy.” Whilst the conditions in the trenches are generally well known and the horrors of the new “mechanized war” has been much talked of the scale of the shelling, death and injury inflicted on both sides can perhaps be summed up in the simple statistic that of the British Expeditionary Force of 100,000 in August 1914 only 4,000 remained by 31st December 1914.

"Blindfold and alone." The Shot at Dawn Memorial at the National Memorial Arboretum near Alrewas, in Staffordshire, UK in memory of the 306 British and Commonwealth soldiers executed after courts-martial for cowardice and desertion during World War I and subsequently granted a pardon in 2006.
“Blindfold and alone.” The Shot at Dawn Memorial at the National Memorial Arboretum near Alrewas, in Staffordshire, UK in memory of the 306 British and Commonwealth soldiers executed after courts-martial for cowardice and desertion during World War I and subsequently granted a pardon in 2006.

I could not look on Death, which being known,
Men led me to him, blindfold and alone. ~ Rudyard Kipling

6 thoughts on “Blindfold and alone”

    1. Hi,

      I’m not sure when this memorial came into being but can offer this from The National memorial Arboretum website :

      “Since planting began in 1997, the National Memorial Arboretum has been a special place honouring those who have served, and continue to serve, our nation in many different ways. Our staff and volunteers look forward to welcoming you.

      It’s not a cemetery. It’s a place of life, represented by the 50,000 trees planted here, where older and younger generations alike can wander and wonder. ” http://www.thenma.org.uk/

      Bill

      Like

  1. Reblogged this on Cryptic Garland click here and commented:
    When I read the bit in the Kiwi memorial about a soldier being sentenced to death for going to sleep when he was still sick I was immediately reminded of a post in Bill Allsopps blog and I just had to show you all. What an horrific thing is this that makes soldiers kill their own men!

    Like

Leave a Reply

